The rule of 3…keeping it simple!

Ok I am no chef but I love to cook. I am always trying to learn new things, even if it ends in a disaster! Yesterday I decided to keep it very simple. Rather than looking for complicated recipes and exotic ingredients, I decided to follow in the Italians foot steps and attempt a very basic dish.

This is a very basic spaghetti recipe with only three ingredients: garlic, tomatoes and basil. And I have to say it tasted amazing. I didn’t over load it with different herbs or spices like I normally do and I could really taste the 3 ingredients. Topped with some extra virgin olive oil and parmesan cheese, it just finished the dish off nicely. A small tip that I have picked up from all these celebrity chefs that I am always watching is to put a bit of the starchy pasta water into the pasta to keep it moist and to stop it drying out. It really does work!

Comfort food at its best. Give it a try!

Check out my website on food photography at www.jbimagery.co.uk 

Tomato and garlic and basil spaghetti

Tomato, garlic and basil spaghetti

One thought on “The rule of 3…keeping it simple!

  1. It’s funny about that — I remember the days when “the experts” were telling us our pasta dishes would be ruined if we didn’t drain away every single last drop of water. Then a few years ago they began telling us to reserve that precious starchy cooking water to add back. I foresee the day when they reverse it yet again. Rather like fashion; for example, jeans. Fashion experts will tell us low-rise bootcut jeans are more slimming, so everyone runs out and buys those. The next year, those very same experts are telling us high-rise straight leg jeans are more slimming. The next year, back to bootcut. And so on and so on and so on. But your pasta looks beautiful! And I love your keeping it simple and letting a few flavors shine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

